Saving and Opening Stories

Hi,
I’m new to Twine and coding but am really enjoying getting into using Sugarcube and Css. I’ve started a story and been been using YouTube guides by Adam Hammond and Dan Cox to supplement the wiki twine guides.
As recommended. I have been working in the offline version and regularly use ‘publish to file’ to save my work. My issue is when I close the twinery app and then reopen it my story is not appearing as when I last saved it but loses my last lot of work. I’ve searched online for a solution and gone through forum posts on similar subjects. But I’m definitely in SugarCube and the story could be emailed to a friend who could open it and play it.
The issue definitely seems to be with saving. I have tried opening the zipped file I emailed, that I know is the latest version but when I open it in the app, then go to amend, an older version of the story appears. The home page also shows 10 stories but I’m only working on one.
I know I’m doing something wrong but can’t see what. I apologise that I’m not always using the correct terminology in my descriptions. I probably understand more terms than I’m comfortable using publicly.
Any help would be gratefully received.

1 Like

Saving your file in an Archive from the home screen may work better for saving than publishing to a file. The published version is one that can be “played” where the archive is one that can be restored for further editing.

fos1

Ahh! Thank you. I knew I was doing something wrong in my saving technique.

I remember something about the archive but started using ‘publish to file’ to check that my codes (to show images) were working.

I will archive in future.

Actually, you can use the “Import” option to import any Twine 2 HTML file into Twine 2, including the published ones. It doesn’t have to be the archived version.

The advantage of the “Archive” option is just that it backs up all stories at once, so you don’t have to save and import them all one at a time.