Running Hawkstone

Does anyone know if Hawkstone can be run by VirtualBox on Mac? I’ve never used a Windows emulator before, but I have VirtualBox sitting in my Applications folder (with no VM loaded? What goes on there?)

2 Likes

Sorry for my interruption, but what is Hawkstone?

(I did an internet search but found only strange stuff: A landmark (a tower in a park), a Lager beer, a gaming guild etc. And on Steam the word Hawkstone is unknown.)

An IFComp game that’s distributed as a Windows executable: Hawkstone

2 Likes

It should run fine on a virtual environment. I wrote and tested it on a virtual windows guest running on a windows host, but the host shouldn’t make any difference. It is a 64-bit game though, so as long as you have 64-bit virtual windows machine from windows 7 to 10, you should be fine. Probably works on windows 11 too, but I didn’t have it to test.

3 Likes

Does that mean I need to load an entire Windows operating system on my computer for the emulator to run? :grimacing: My laptop isn’t very flush on hard drive space…

1 Like

Yes, I’m afraid so. Unfortunately, that’s the way virtual machines work. There might be some other way using a Mac, but I’m not very experienced on that platform.

Edit: It looks like Wine is on Mac. You could maybe play it through that. I wouldn’t be able to guide you through configuring it though.

Edit2: I just tested it with Wine on Linux and it was not a good experience. The font is wrong, the console screen misbehaves, and is resistant to all attempts to change the size properties.

I completely understand if you want to save yourself the bother.

2 Likes

I can’t say for certain. But that is truly a shame. I would love to give priority to hand-crafted games. Kudos on your work, whatever happens.

1 Like