Rewards for reviewing IFComp games

In 2017, as an IFComp author, I ran a competition awarding prizes to reviewers who reviewed every game.

In that year, there were 755 public reviews. The next year, after some discussion, I didn’t run it and there were 502 public reviews reviews. Last year, there were 599 public reviews, but 83 of those were mine, and I won’t be publicly reviewing during the comp this year.

Last time this competition was run, a few odd things came up (with someone doing a somewhat rushed series of videos reviewing all games), but nothing negative.

I’ve asked the current IFComp organizer if doing something like that would be feasible again this year. There was some concern before about authors giving anything of value to reviewers, but the rules are designed to make it difficult for reviewers to show any favoritism:

The Rules:

1. There is a prize pool with N entries (for some N).
  2. At the end of the competition, the N reviewers that reviewed the most games are put into a pool. If there is a tie (such as multiple people reviewing all games), then the first person gets into the pool first. I can almost guarantee there will be more prizes than people who review all games.
  3. Authors (or, if we open it up, anyone) votes for their favorite reviewers using the same scoring method as IFComp. The finalists then get to choose their prizes in order of their score.

Let me know if anyone’s interested in running this year, or if you have concerns. The record seems to show, though, that this resulted in a much higher chunk of reviews than usual.

10 Likes

Good idea! I think the proposed rules are fair. Reviewers are primarily ranked by how many reviews they write, which can be measured objectively. Popularity only affects the relative order in which they get to choose prizes.