Rendezvous with Rama

First, let me apologise if this post is misdirected and please feel free to relocate it if necessary.
I am new here having registered only so I can obtain (hopefully) a copy of Rendezvous with Rama for the PC.

I am a writer researching the construction and design of habitable space stations, actual or fictional. I remember the book Rendezvous with Rama with great fondness; it was partly responsible for my love of all things space-oriented.
One of the websites that led me here featured a comment by the game’s author concerning his adaptation of the description of Rama for the computer game. This I found very interesting but I failed to discover how to contact that gentleman.
Any help I receive will be greatly appreciated.

I’ll be PMing you shortly.

Thank you for that very helpful information, Peter. :wink:

Anytime. Also, I’m sure you know that Sierra made its own adaptation, “Rama”. But that one’d be trickier to find.

Sorry to double-post, I just wasnted to be sure I’d get your attention - the first time I read your post I was skimming, and concerned myself mostly with “this person wants to find this game.”

But reading it properly now, I’m very curious - what was that comment? How faithful did he consider the game to be? Was he, in fact, pleased with it?

Oops! I’m afraid I didn’t add a link to my Favorites, Peter. And I don’t recall much of what he said. I’ll try to rediscover the website.

Hey, just found this info. Might be useful/critical for actually playing the game.

mocagh.org/loadpage.php?getgame=rama-alt

And I found this:

archive.org/details/GETLAMP-Martinez

Your link is the one I was looking for. Thanks again.

Heh, what are the odds. :slight_smile:

Depending on how extensive your interest is, you may also be interested by Infocom’s game Starcross, which has been reviewed as strongly derivative of Rendezvous with Rama.