Recommended IDE for Sugarcube?

Hi everyone!
I’m fairly new to IF (authoring that is). I’m a school librarian and I’m creating a CYOA for one of our special needs classes to practice and roleplay life skills. I’m currently using Twine 2 with Harlowe 3.2.1. It’s going pretty well and I’m kind of getting into the groove of it. I’m enjoying myself and starting to think about creating another IF. My daughter loves the Magnus Archives so I’m thinking about making something kind of like that. I think I’m going to switch over to Sugarcube because it looks like you can get a bit fancier.
My question is, what would you recommend for an IDE?
Twine 2 is nice but I’m wondering if there is something else out there that is a little more full-featured (find and replace would be nice). The syntax highlighting is great and I do appreciate the tooltips (I’m starting to turn them off more often, so I’m learning). The story map visualization is also a must for me. My brain is so cluttered I need to SEE the story to keep it straight. Something with a built-in website uploader would be nice too (or whatever that is called). Right now I’m constantly publishing to file and then uploading to my website whenever I update. I’ve gotten pretty fast but something that can do it right in the application would be awesome.
I’m willing to pay for an application so it does not need to be free.
Any recommendations?

2 Likes

Visual Studio Code with the Twee 3 language tools extension, combined with the Tweego compiler sounds like what you’re looking for.

3 Likes

This looks pretty heavy but awesome. I’m up for giving it a try. Is there a step-by-step walkthrough for beginners on creating interactive fiction in VSC?. I have everything installed but can’t figure out how to set the story format to sugarcube. I see the documentation for “StoryData” but how do I do this?

Hi @crios,

So here’s a super simple file to get started with SugarCube v2.30.0: