Randomized NPC action system - am I on the right path?

Twine Version: 2.3.9
Story Format: SugarCube 2.33.2

(edit: minor rephrasing for sake of clarity)

TL;DR
Im afraid my code for NPC action randomization is unnecessarily complicated and I might not be able to expand/maintain it. Can I do better? How?

I’m using Twine with Sugarcube 2 to create an RPG with a substantial amount of randomized Non Player Character action. I am a newbie to programming/scripting; most probably my goals are way to ambitious and I am in over my head. But I am willing to learn. :slight_smile:

Thanks to examples, discussions and documentation provided by the awesome Twine community I was able to glue some working code together that allows me …

1. to track where NPCs are and what they are doing. (Only a subset of all NPCs are “active”. I am concerned about the performance as I want to be able to use/generate dozens, maybe even between 100 and 200 randomized in the future, so I to limit the number of NPCs the code has to deal with.)
  2. identify a set of potential actions for each NPC based on the NPC’s class and location. (I want to expand this functionality with action options based on e.g. time schedules, weather, their characteristics, their current action etc. and make use of probabilities for each action option.)
  3. from the set of potential actions for each active NPC randomly choose a next action, including movement to other locations/passages. (I am thinking about giving actions a - partly randomized - duration, allowing interactions between NPCs etc.)

Given my inexperience I am concerned that my approach (basically nesting an awful lot of “if”-macros in a way that looks shady even to myself) may prove too pedestrian and will prevent me from accomplish my ambitious goals.

So I am asking not for help with a specific problem but for your critical feedback: Am I on the right track? Is there an easier way to do what I am doing that might also be better expandable?