Questions about objects and kinds in I7

So I’m still pretty new to using Inform, and partway through coding my current project (which has a pretty in-depth clothing system), I realized that I have about ten different kinds of “garments” (shirts, pants, skirts, hats, etc), and that each of those kinds can have multiple specific objects. This system has worked out well for some of the things I want to do (determining whether eg a pair of pants can be put on based on what the player is already wearing, mainly), but I very frequently want to be able to just refer to things more generically in text–like saying “your pants/skirt” based on which the player is wearing, or having the description text for an item say that that item is a dress in an automatically generated way where I don’t have to write out every description for every article of clothing.

The other issue has been having text which refers to specifics of the, for instance, pair of socks the player is currently wearing, when that could be any of a number of pairs of socks and “pair of socks worn by the player” isn’t considered a specific object by inform even though I’ve coded it in such a way that they won’t be able to put on a pair of socks if they’re wearing one (I mean, I get why it does it, but I haven’t been able to find a good alternative here).

Basically, I feel like I have good potential solutions to these problems IF there was an easy way to get to the kind that’s one up in the tree. So if I have a blue dress, and I had some sort of way to access the kind of garment it is (dress) without having to make ten if statements every time (tried to turn this into a “to decide” rule I could call on, but it doesn’t seem to like having a kind of thing and not a specific thing as the value being decided on, nor did it like the table I made with a bunch of kinds of objects as entries).