Question about Items and their descriptions in Inform 10

So, i’m very very new to this, only my second day running here. I’m coding a short interactive story that’s 100% exploration based using detailed item descriptions to tell a story. Well I want to make it so that if you have one item, it will change the description of another item when you find it. Is there any If/otherwise statements I could use to achieve this?

1 Like

Welcome, Jamitha!

Can you be a little more specific about what you want? Does item B only change its description if you find item A first? Is it that item A interacts somehow with item B to change it? Does the change happen out of sight, or will you see it happening? We can absolutely help if we get a little more detail about what you want to do. If you have code, even non-functional code, for what you want to do, you can post it to give us an idea.

1 Like

Essentially, there exists within the game a symbol that the player character has never seen before. That symbol is on many objects, and I want it to say “A symbol you’ve never seen before” for the first item and “The symbol you’ve found on other items” if you already found one of them.

OK. Would something like this work?

Lab is a room. 

Something can be found. Something is usually not found.

Check examining something:
	now the noun is found.

The widget is here. The description is "[if the doodad is found]It has a picture of a cat on it.[otherwise]It has a picture of a dog on it."

The doodad is here. The description is "[if the widget is found]It has a picture of a cat on it.[otherwise]It has a picture of a dog on it."

This might get really complicated if you have dozens of items with different symbols, but for just a few things this is OK.

2 Likes

Do you want the description of the first item to change as well, once you’ve found the others? If not, try this:

The first symbol found is an object that varies.
To say symbol description: