Quality of this year's competition

I have now played about 50 of the 55 games in the competition this year, and I just have to say that I am completely blown away.

For context, I have played every past IFComp winner, every XYZZY Best Game and 80% of the nominees for best game, and every game on the IFDB 50 Best Poll (except a few like Mentula Macanus).

I can easily say that this is the best IFComp lineup since 1998. As an author, I can’t call out specific games, but there are 6-8 games in this competition that are easily of the same quality or better then the comp winners of the last decade. There are some parser games that will be remembered for a long, long time, and the non-parser games in this competition are, in my opinion, better than any previous non-parser game written.

To me, it feels like (and some have said this openly) that many authors had been working on their magnum opus for months or years, and somehow they all happened to choose this comp to release them.

With 55 games, it may take a while to find a perfect gem, but the bar for games in this competition is pretty high.

Already?? Well, I’ve played 5 and you seem to be right, it does feel like a strong year, and rating them is hard.

So far I’ve only played two games, but of them, one is a very solid middle-of-the-road piece; the other is a game I hated, but mainly for reasons other than implementation, and even though there were serious issues there, you could at least tell the author gave a cuss. So yeah, I’m very hopeful about the rest of the competition.

You deserve some kind of endurance prize…how do you manage to play so many games in a fraction of the time span allowed?

Total Time Span = Time Span Allowed + Time Span Disallowed

So your mistake so far, Hanon, has been to not also play during the Time Span Disallowed.

Think about that!

-Wade