Proper Naming of Similar Rooms

Hello! I’m fairly new to Inform and have an idea that involves a forest path. I want to allow the player to have options in where to go (after all, “go north” 17 times gets boring), but I’m not sure what the best way is to distinguish where they are on the path without having a lot of locations. A few of the ideas I’ve had;

• Forest Path 1E, 2E, 3E, Forest Path 1NW, 2NW, 3NW, etc [Each is labelled Forest Path [number][letter(s)] and the letter(s) refer to directions]
  • Forest Path 1, 2, 3, 4, etc (Just use numbers as distinguishers)
  • “Forest Path [N, E, NE, E, E]” (Each is labelled with the directions to get there as such)
  • Just make a bunch of locations that are close enough to each other to solve the issue of similar names (possibly similar structure to the roguelike map of the first stage of Inscryption, but in an IF format)

I can find problems with all of these, but I am happy to listen to suggestions on good ways to format this for the player’s view.
Thanks!

Would some kind of trail markers fit the theme?

1 Like

In this particular case, not really, unfortunately. The sort of idea is that a malicious entity created the path, rather than people so it’s meant to be a bit chaotic and hard to navigate. There’ll probably be markers of the entity’s exact path, but idk if that’ll help much. That and there’s the issue of having 25 different rooms called Forest Path.

Do you want the player to be able to tell the difference between one area and another, or just be lost until they solve some kind of puzzle?

1 Like