problems when taking an object from a desk.

Hi, I’m very new to Tads 3 (only day 3) but have been determined to learn it. Have read lots of guides and documentation and followed tutorials to create simple games but am still getting stuck a lot. I’ve managed to get around a lot of things (though I’m sure there are better ways) but there’s one thing I’m very stuck on.

I’m sure it’s simply fixed, I just don’t know how to do it.

ok, here’s the set up. You’re in a room, there’s an area of the room partitioned off. There’s a desk in the partitioned section with a key on it you need. If you try to take the key you are told the glass partition is in the way. There is however a small hole in the partition, so you tell your trusty dog to go get the key. You then get a nice bit of text how the dog leaps through the hole, gets the key and brings it back to you tail a-wagging.

Somehow I’ve managed to make this all work fine. The problem comes if I then drop the key on the floor or anywhere else, and ask the dog to get it. I want it to say the dog has no further interest in the key, but instead I get the same message about him leaping through the hole…

here’s the relevant code I have so far. Sorry if it’s messy but I really am just a beginner.

[code]++ goldKey : Hidden
‘gold key’
‘gold key’
“A gold key.”

dobjFor(Take)
{
    check()
    {
        if((gActor != dog) && (!moved))  //ensures only the dog can pick it up if it's on the desk, and if I drop it on the floor, I won't get told it's behind glass if I try to pick it up again
        {
            "You cannot reach the key through the glass.";
            exit;
        }       
    }
    action()
    {
        inherited;
    }  
} 

;[/code]

Now the dog code:

[code]
dog : Actor
‘Dog’
‘Dog’
@room
“Dog is your best friend. He’s well trained and will obey commands.”
isHim = true
isProperName = true
;

• TCommandTopic @TakeAction
    matchDobj = [key]
    topicResponse()
    {
    “Dog, <>! you command.\b