Problems creating a class based on ComplexContainer

I’m new to TADS 3 and trying to create a Desk class which you can put things both on and under. ComplexContainer plus a Surface and an Underside works great, as long as I copy/paste the nested object properties onto every static object. But I’m trying to generalize this to a Desk class, to reduce duplication, and running into problems.

Basically, it’s clear that my Surface and Underside exist only on class Desk itself and are shared by all objects for which Desk is the prototype. What’s the best way to define a Desk class such that all the parts of the ComplexContainer are created fresh for every static object that inherits from it?

Here’s a minimal example, a desk with a rock on it:

gameMain: GameMainDef
    initialPlayerChar = me
;

room: Room 'room' 'room'
    "You're in a minimal example with a desk. "
;
+ me: Actor;

class Desk: ComplexContainer, Heavy
    // These nested objects appear to exist only on the "class".
    subSurface: ComplexComponent, Surface { }
    subUnderside: ComplexComponent, Underside { }
;

desk: Desk {
    vocabWords = 'desk'
    name = 'desk'
    desc = "It's a desk that doesn't seem to work right. "
    // All is well when I add the nested objects on the instance like so:
    // subSurface: ComplexComponent, Surface { }
    // subUnderside: ComplexComponent, Underside { }
    location = room
}

rock: Thing {
    vocabWords = 'rock'
    name = 'rock'
    desc = "It's a rock that's not so hot either. "
    location = desk.subSurface
}

I have a couple specific problems. First one is that this prints:

Room
You’re in a minimal example with a desk.
On the is a rock. On the is a rock.

Not sure what’s going on there, but I assume it shakes out of some of my other bad assumptions. The blank name seems to be because it’s using the name on class Desk, not my instance. If I give class Desk an initial value for name, then it prints that, and not the instance’s name.