Problem with a passage from a random event

Hello everyone! :slight_smile:

I’m using Twine since 3 weeks now. I’m not an expert so I’ve encountered a problem. I’m creating a game in Twine story format 3.1.0. with stats, random events etc. etc. Now:

From the starting page the player has 4 options to travel to different parts of the city:

[[optionA]]
[[optionB]]
[[optionC]]
[[optionD]]

After clicking for example optionA, the player goes to that passage but he has a chance for a random event.

(set: $busevent to (random: 1,5))(if: $busevent is >=4)[(goto: “BusEvent”)]

If the event pops out, the player needs to make one of two choices, which take him to one of two passages. And now the problem: after the player ends the event, I need to him to return to the desired location, which he chose earlier. So if he choose optionA and ended the event, I want him to go to the optionA. If he chose optionB and ended the event, he goes to option B and so on.

Is that possible? Or do I need to make a different scenario? :slight_smile:

Thank you for the help in advance!!

Please use the Preformatted Text option (in the toolbar) when posting code examples, it makes them easier to read. Based on the the version number you mentioned and the syntax of your code example I will assume you are using the Harlowe v3.1.0 story format.

There are a number of methods you can use to automatically track the current location of the Main Character. The following solution uses a known Passage Tag combined with a header tagged passage to automatically update a story variable ($room).

warning: the following code has not been tested, it make contain syntax errors.

1: Initialise the story variable within your project’s startup tagged passage.

(set: $room to "")