Possible to Avoid Underscore+Character Being Interpreted as Temp Variable?

Twine Version: 2.3.16
Story Format: Harlowe 3.2.3

I am new to Twine, and have been slowly learning the Harlowe story format.
After some perfunctory scene setting passages, I have finally gotten to the meat of the story.
The story Main Page consists of several data tags, which have as a convention only alphanumeric characters, periods, and underscores. Most of the data tags presented include underscores. These same data tags are links to their own respective passages. While I discovered that back-ticking escapes out each underscore (_), back-ticking within a link’s [[double brackets]] renders all of the back ticks along with the underscores. The data tags within the double brackets successfully become links to their own respective passages, and the data tags effectively present upon playing the story. The issue, however, is that when arriving to the main menu passage, Twine kicks up the debug dialog box in the lower right corner that there are 43 Errors, all of which state “There isn’t a temp variable named _XXXX_XXXX in this place.”

Does the debug dialog box only show up for me, or will it show up once the story gets published (to everyone)?
If the debug dialog box will show up for everyone, is there some way to suppress these errors?

Is there some way to use underscores within links, as they appear within the data tags, short of switching to a different story format (see reddit URL, below)?

Selecting a different story format would mean I would have to start back at the beginning, and re-code everything under the new story format!

If I must switch to a new story format, which is the best, out of these seven?
Chapbook 1.2.1
Harlowe 2.1.0
Harlow 1.2.4
Snowman 2.0.2
Snowman 1.4.0
SugarCube 2.36.1
SugarCube 1.0.35

A sample of the Twine code appears below.

((within the Story Stylesheet))

tw-hook[name="recess"] {
   display:inline-block;
   padding-left: 1em;
}

((within the passage))