Please consider archiving all/some of your reviews to IF

I like this a lot, but my problem is I sometimes feel iffy reviewing games I competed against. I really don’t like giving out stars in this case. So I think it’s OK just to write a review without a rating. In case anyone was wondering. I also think it’s ok to just give out stars, too.

Also as an author I sometimes worry, what if I decide to change my review? I think we’re all erring on the side of encouragement here, but there is a definite critcism vs supportiveness angle. I suppose a disclaimer would mostly work.

Note that authors can also embargo reviews til the 17th. So if you don’t want to forget, you don’t have to.

Edited to clean stuff up. JMac, let me know if I’m going over the line, but I hope I’ve avoided specifics well enough.

@Andrew Yes, there’s no way I’ll add stars to reviews if I post any. And I agree, authors writing reviews should definitely use the embargo option to avoid breaking comp rules.

I like IFDB as a review platform. It’s a better way to engage the audience and perhaps provoke (hopefully constructive) discussion about particular games. I’ve long pondered cross-posting reviews to both the blog and IFDB, and I’m definitely open to doing that if I thought a particular view suited both venues.