Player takes off blindfold, objects in room become visible

Hi peeps, I’m pretty new to Inform 7 - started trying to into it a few days ago.

I have the player sitting in a room with a blindfold on. There are objects in the room but I don’t want to mention them to the player until they take the blindfold off. Can anyone suggest how to stop Inform from automatically describing the objects in the room, when the player is wearing the blindfold?

You could start by making the room dark when the player is wearing the blindfold (see ch. 3.15. in the manual). The player can’t see the room description or interact with the objects while the room is dark.

@Juhanna
Might not be convenient if you want to use, say, a blindfold and a candle. A lit object in a dark room…

@essell

The player is wearing a blindfold.
Instead of looking when the player is wearing a blindfold, say "You can't see a dern thing."

Judging from the way you’ve started it, perhaps:

The player is on the chair.  The player is wearing the rope.
Instead of doing something when the player is wearing the rope, say "You're tied to this chair."
Instead of cutting the rope:
	remove the rope from play;
	say "You cut the ropes.".

Not sure if this is at all relevant. Something you may or may not want to play around with, and a look at the structure for rules (one of the bits I’m currently learning, and I’m a fair novice).

Note that inform already knows what “cutting” is. If you want to define new actions (such as untying) you need to tell them that untying is an action, and to understand “untie [something]” as untying.

I assumed the OP would want to stop the player from manipulating the objects as well. If you only suppress the room description the player can still do whatever they want to the objects in the room, including examining them or using TAKE ALL to find out what objects there are.