Pilgrimage postmortem

[size=150]Pilgrimage, a post-mortem[/size]

Who and some why

My name is Víctor and I’m a writer. I’ve written a novel, a couple of indie videogames, loads of ad copy and some attempts of IF.

Pilgrimage is my first finished IF.

I had been tinkering with Inform 7 for a bit more than a year. At some point last summer I was trying to write an exploration-based IF called The Bludisko Bequest when I realised that

a) I wasn’t going to finish it in time for the IFComp 2015
b) I had previously missed the deadline for IFComp 2014
c) Enough was enough

So I pretty much put Bludisko in the fridge and started working tentatively on a “simpler, more compact idea”, and quite a random one, something I thought I could finish in time. I didn’t have much hope, to be honest.

Then my lovely girlfriend dragged me to the London & Oxford IF Meetup. I met Emily Short. I babbled something about Pilgrimage. Over a pint, Emily and Sam Barlow told me to finish the game.

Oh, man. Now I had to finish it.

What and some more why

Pilgrimage is an evolution of a puzzle designed for a game I didn’t finish. In that game, you explored a picturesque Tuscan town filled with arcane secrets. Think Umberto Eco. After cheating your way into a church, you found a complex mosaic depicting a Renaissance mapa mundi.

In the late Middle Ages, the shape and size of the world were an intellectual battlefield. The dying Medieval thinking saw the world as an ideal, in a way, a representation of something, the symbol of a symbol. The growing Empiricism of the Renaissance saw it as something more earthly and mostly unknown – and that knowledge had to come via exploration and observation, true to scientific method, rather than via revelation and the constant appeal to authoritative opinions.

Also, I love maps.