Picking up animal after it becomes tired from running

So I’m brand new to Inform 7, and I apologize if I my explanation of my problem is hard to understand. What I want to accomplish: Make a rat carryable after chasing it. Simple enough, but I can’t for the life of me figure it out. Here’s my code:

ratTired is a truth state that varies.
ratTired is initially false.

chasing is an action applying to one visible thing. Understand "chase [something]" as chasing.

Check chasing:
	if the noun is not an animal, say "You cannot chase this."

Carry out chasing:
	if chasing rat:
		say "You chase the rat for a while until it becomes too tired to run away.";
		now ratTired is true.

if ratTired is true:
	instead of taking rat:
		now rat is carried by player;
		say "You were able to snatch the rat!"

Dimly Lit Room is a room. "You are in a dark room. Your stomach is in excruciating pain from hunger. You need to find something to eat, fast."

a rat is an animal in dimly lit room.

-----------------------------------END----------------------------------------
The code works somewhat, but from the start of the game I can immediately pick up the rat. Can anyone help me here? I don’t know how to format these posts properly to show text, I apologize.

2 Likes

For formatting, there’s a button that looks like </> in the top bar. Select your code, then click that.

I’m guessing something is wrong with your indentation, because as written, if [condition]: instead of [action]: shouldn’t even compile. But it’s hard to tell since the forum removes all indentation that’s not code-formatted.

Hi Jason and welcome to the forum!

It looks like you have “If ratTired is true” before “instead of taking rat.” As Daniel said, that doesn’t seem like it should be able to compile–but in any case, you’d want “if ratTired is true” to go after “Instead of taking rat:”. “if” checks and the like all have to go inside rules, so Inform knows when to do the checks.