Overenthusiastic rule?

Hello, I am Random and I’m a beginner Inform 7 user. I’m making a little basic adventure game. I have lots of experience with other languages like Java and Python, but for some reason I find myself struggling to master the basic syntax of Inform. One piece of code in particular that I am stuck on is this:

I’m sure you can guess what the Forest Maze is. It’s not actually a maze, just a room with this little rule applied to it so that until the player creates landmarks for himself(I have that action coded and it works perfectly), he will just be lost in the area. landmarkyes is a variable that is set to change to 1 as soon as the player creates landmarks, and I have confirmed that piece of code to be functioning properly.

However, despite every other rule working in this instance, whenever I have this rule or minor variants of it (like using “every turn” instead of “before”) in the source text, it always applies regardless of both conditions. So instead of that statement only appearing whenever you try to go anywhere in the Forest Maze, whenever you try to go anywhere in any room that statement will appear, and it is regardless of whether you have created landmarks or not. I must be missing something big, but I can’t tell.

I would appreciate any help you can give me.

This should work, unless perhaps you have messed up the indentation? (The tabs got lost when you pasted into the forum, so I can’t tell.)

This simplified example works:

The Forest Maze is a room.

The Kitchen is west of the Forest Maze.

The landmarkyes is a number that varies.

Before going direction:
	if the player is in the Forest Maze:
		if landmarkyes is 0:
			say "You seem to be walking in circles regardless of which way you go.";

I’ll note that you’ll get a better result if you add “stop the action” after the say phrase (at the same level), so that the default “You can’t go that way” is blocked.