Once more to the LAKE

I thought I’d talk a bit about some of the craft choices I made in writing LAKE Adventure. It’ll probably sound a bit academic (hi, I’m a college professor), but I’m very interested in the forms of IF, in particular parser IF, in particular how parser IF can tell stories, and particularly in particular how we can continue to make parser IF stories memorable and meaningful in the future. And I think those are more questions of form than subject. That’s not to say all these choices were successful, of course, but I wanted to enumerate them to lay them bare.

Platform and presentation. I wrote a separate post about AGT. In the end, I think the online DOSBox presentation added to rather than detracted from the game. Perhaps in an ideal world, the graphical presentation of a text game shouldn’t matter. But we live our lives on the Web now, and we expect any page we visit to be uniquely well-designed. Quixe and Parchment certainly produce attractive results, but those pages can wind up feeling same-y as one plays through multiple games. Contrast games with the default layout to Assembly from this Comp. The changes are small, but the small splash of Ikea colors in the status line and the Ikea-appropriate font make the game seem more lively and thoughtfully constructed. I think my central thesis is this: it’s time for parser authors to put the same basic CSS care into their web releases that we might expect from successful Twine authors. (Of course, at the same time, we should release downloadable files for players’ use in interpreters, thus abandoning our stylings.) Vorple offers even greater possibilities, and it surprises me (according to IFDB) that very few Vorple games have ever been released.