Newbie Question: Implementing Player as an Outside Coordinator

Hi! So a problem I have sometimes with interactive fiction is players are often given a specific character to play for (and the reader might be disconnected from that character), or player characters are too blank in an attempt to be immersive. (This might also be a problem for only me specifically, as I’m neurodivergent and struggle with identifying with a lot of book characters, but I ask you to hear me out on this.)

I have some experience in TADS 3 (and a LOT of general coding experience), but I want some feedback on some initial ideas I had for addressing this minor problem, and ask if anyone knows of a better way to handle these ideas, before I drown myself in doing something the hardest-possible way (which my wife will attest that I often do).

All help and insight is appreciated!

The idea I want to implement in TADS 3 (adv3Lite library) is that the player is coordinating someone through a cellphone (without ever being in the world themselves), and so all commands entered into the story are messages being sent to this character through the phone. Effectively, you as the player have a goal, but you need to get another fully-realized character to achieve that goal for you, and so the character’s reactions to the situation can be both dynamic and described in detail, without the risk of ever feeling jarring to an immersed reader.

As another fun plot moment, I would like for the cellphone to eventually be handed off to another character, and the player begins messaging commands to them instead.

My initial ideas are as follows:

First idea is that the character you’re messaging is simply the player character described in third person. That would make it so you don’t have to constantly type in “Mida, take apple” or “Mida, push box north”, instead of the simpler “take apple” or “push box north”.