Needing help in coding a dream (and some other minor stuff)

Hey, I’d like to know how to get the player to be able to sleep (and dream). Here is what I’d like to happen.

The player is in a room which is currently locked. The key to unlock the door is in his dreams (Which I have made separate rooms for). The player can only sleep when he:

a) is lying on a bed
b) has taken at least 1 sleeping pill

For the sleeping pills, there will be 2 hidden in the room. When the player finds and eats one, his dream will last for 10 turns and he will then wake up on the bed again. When he eats the second pill, he sleeps for <an undecided amount that is more than 10> turns. When he goes to sleep, he will loose everything in his inventory and retain it when he wakes up. In his dreams, he can only retain the key. Everything has to be reset (except the key) when he wakes up. Seeing I have had no experience in this whatsoever, I also need to accomplish these:

1. A prologue (Doing a few actions will trigger the title to appear (Something like the begining of Child’s Play))

2. Transition text (When moving to another room, it reads “You wade through the water” before moving to the next room (Only applicable to certain rooms))

3. Having rooms adjacent to the one you were locked in. (Enterable containers)

4. Possibly the talk engine in Photopia

5. Being able to turn something upside down

That’s a pretty complex problem, but there are a couple of good examples in the documentation. “Space Patrol” (example 158 in my edition) is a simpler one, which uses scenes to create a commercial break. There’s also a more detailed one called “Pine” that contains a flashback. I think “Pine 3” is the best one to look at - example number 165. The key is to use a location variable and a possessions container to preserve the player’s previous state, then move the player to the dream location and start the dream scene.

Some relevant bits of the code: