Need help with basic player information systems

If you are requesting technical assistance with Twine, please specify:
Twine Version: 2.3.16
Story Format: Harlowe 3.2.3

I’m a complete and utter newbie at this system, so apologies in advance if this is a stupid question, but I’ve been trying to make a simple system for the player to input their name and gender, and for those to be used all throughout the story.
For the name, I’d prefer to use code that has a little input box below the prompt (instead of the in-your-face-dialog-box I get when using the browser version), asking for the name, and below appearing a choice between male and female, where one of the choices disappear when selecting the other one and more text appears below it, as well a list of choices for species (therefore the ‘born a…’ line at the end).

Here’s my code so far:

(set: $name to (prompt: "What is your name, bold adventurer?", "Kvathe"))
Excellent. Now, you are a...

|links>[\
(link: "male")[(replace: ?links)[male]]
(link: "female")[(replace: ?links)[female]]
(set: $gender to ?links)\
]

Born a...

Thanks in advance for the help!

Here’s the documentation for the input-box macro, which if I’m understanding correctly is what you want for the name. So the following…

What is your name, bold adventurer?

(input-box: bind $name, =X=, 1, "Kvathe")

… will get you the “What is your name” text and on the next line a text entry box that is 33% of the passage width and one line high and that will set the $name variable to whatever is typed in the box, displaying the text “Kvathe” as the default.

As for the gender, I think that’s throwing an error because by having (set: $gender to ?links) inside of ?links, the value to which you’re trying to set $gender includes the command to set $gender, if that makes sense. The easy way around this is:

|links>[\
(link: "male")[(replace: ?links)[male](set: $gender to "male")]
(link: "female")[(replace: ?links)[female](set: $gender to "female"]\
]