Mysterious Adventures lamp expiration handling?

Perhaps this belongs in the Scott Adams interpreter discrepancies thread. I’m working on support for the Brian Howarth Mysterious Adventures in Spatterlight, and noticed this post:

I started playing the game using the modern ScottFree interpreter, but the Mysterious Adventures handle lamp expiration in a different way than the Adams games, causing some odd behavior. So I switched to the vintage Commodore 64 version

What exactly are the difference in the handling of lamp expiration? Of course, the only way to find out is to play the games in both interpreters and compare the results, but I was just wondering if anyone had already investigated this.

2 Likes

So many different versions of the Mysterious Adventures… with the earlier ones using Howarth’s own, but similar tech before he tweaked things to fit in with the Scott Adams system.

The BBC micro guys might be the best people to chat to as I think they’ve investigated the Mysterious Adventures pretty thoroughly; with that machine being one of Howarth’s preferred systems.

(That blog entry is pretty old now… I think we’ve learned quite a few things since 2009 about the games… Many of the Mysterious Adventures, for instance, did get US releases.)

1 Like

I’m not sure. But here are some initial findings from the ScottFree source code:

A game consists of a header of 14 values each apparently 16 bit …
[value number 9:] Time light source lasts. This counts down every time item 9 is in game. Brian Howarths games allow -1 for never run down. When it runs out the light item (9) is dumped in room 0 and a look done. Messages vary between interpreters and include things like ‘Your light is flickering and dying’ as well as ‘Light runs out in %d turns’.

I don’t know if there’s more to the Howarth-style timer than just allowing -1 for never-run-down.

1 Like