Moving through a random string of passages in Twine

Twine Version: 2.8.0
[Harlowe 3.3.7 (but open to other options)]

Hi all. Absolute beginner here, first post, probably doing everything wrong. Sorry. I promise I’ve searched all over and tried a bunch of things, but I can’t seem to find out how to do something I swear should be simple, and I don’t know enough to know if I’m just searching badly. Apologies if so.

Basically, want I want to do is:

1. Start the player in an introductory passage with a link at the bottom saying “Begin”.
  2. Take them through a random selection of three passages from a total of nine (without seeing the same passage twice), clicking a link saying “Continue” each time to go from one to the next.
  3. When three random passages have been seen, have “Continue” take them to a final “Ending” passage.

I’ve tried various solutions, including things that use storylets (which I felt like I could figure out if I could only find some more entry-level instruction than what I’ve been able to track down), something using ‘pluck’ (I think that was in Sugarcube maybe?) and other things using arrays and various methods of randomly selecting things.

However, each time, I’m being hampered by my absolute beginnerness. I’d like to be able to understand what I’m seeing in terms of online instruction and resources, but it assumes a whole bunch of knowledge I just don’t have, and figuring out where to begin accumulating said knowledge just keeps sending me down search rabbitholes.

I even tried getting a couple of the big AIs to suggest solutions, but “confidently wrong” is an understatement. I’d like to also add “totally unapologetic when called out for being wrong” and “happy to shamelessly repeat suggestions that you already told it don’t work”. Lovely stuff.

Anyway, would really appreciate some help with this, even if it’s just pointing me in the direction of the right idiot-proof resource.

Thanks!

1 Like