Moving from Room to Room

Hey guys, I’m new at interactive fiction writing and I’m using Imform 7 for the first time. I’m enjoying it and I’m hoping to write a simple IF game. So I need some help in my story. I want to allow the player to go go to a different room. Here is what I wrote:

After eating the mushroom:
say “As you pop the little musshroom into your mouth, your stomach twists in nervousness. You knew very well what would happen to you if you had made the wrong decission. But as you tentatively chewed it, you were surprised to find that it was sweet and not at all bad. Eagerly, you gathered more and stuffed them in your shorts poket to keep for later After your hunger has been satisfied, you decided to explore the clearing further. You see something to the east…”

The cave is a room. It is east from the rorest. “As you head east, you see that it’s the enterance to a cave of unsure death. Water dripp don and echoed throughout the rock cavern you are in. As your eyes adjust to the darkness, you see that the cave wall is covered by a fine layer of moss and algae.”

I want the player to go east from where the mushroom is so that they will get to the cave. What I wrote didn’t work. Would any mind helping me out? Thanks! :stuck_out_tongue:

PS: I forgot to say that my first room is the “Island” and I want the player to get to the second room “The cave”. Thanks again :stuck_out_tongue:

I guess you meant to write “Forest”? Or “Island”, if that is the name of your first room.

This would create a room called “rorest” and place the cave east of it. Check your “Index” tab and the “World” tab within that after compiling, and you’ll see a map showing the rooms you’ve made. As Victor indicated, you probably want to say “The cave is a room. It is east from the Island.”

Also: be careful with including travel in room descriptions. The game will keep on saying “As you head east …” every time the player types LOOK in that room.

A couple of points: