Modifying Inform 7 standard rules

Modifying Inform 7 standard rules - is there any way to do this? I want to change some of the standard messages used.

You don’t usually need to modify the standard rules to change default messages, unless you want to do something complex like changing the inventory list. Try using one of David Fisher’s extensions for changing default messages, Default Messages or Custom Library Messages.

These are really cool. I think I’m going to play with one if time permits after I get my game operational. Any notable difference between the two?

Question about this:

LibMsg <unknown object>			"You can't see any such thing."

Would this (or something like it) work?

LibMsg <unknown object>			"You can't see any such thing.[or]You wish.[or]Fat chance.[at random]"

Also, I’ve never used an extension before – I notice that you do so with an include line, which brings up a more basic question on Inform programming: Can you keep your own source code in several files? If so do you do this with includes too? I haven’t really thought about this yet because my code is in separate files for testing at the moment anyway.

Default Messages is more or less a trimmed-down version of Custom Library Messages, so unless you need the extra stuff in Custom Library Messages, it’s probably best to use Default Messages.

You’d need to add “[one of]” at the start of your message, like so:

LibMsg <unknown object>			"[one of]You can't see any such thing.[or]You wish.[or]Fat chance.[at random]"

But apart from that, I think it should work just fine.

(Incidentally, it’s probably better to use more helpful error messages than “You wish.”, since the player won’t know whether the command was understood and the game is disallowing it, or whether there was a problem understanding the command, like not being able to find a matching object.)