Mathematicians?

Are there any mathematicians on the forum?

What’s going on…? Any cool developments in your field of focus, or the larger umbrella of mathematics? Any drama?

I always have a fascination with math, but I’m not very good at it… I feel like there’s an intuition that lets me half-understand stuff sometimes. The whole field seems kinda interesting, though. It doesn’t get the same amount/degree of press as, say, physics or computer science.

8 Likes

Well there’s @mathbrush and @Spike; I suspect there are others too (Graham Nelson I suppose, though he’s not much of chit-chatter on the forum!)

7 Likes

I have had delightful conversations with @mathbrush about topology!

7 Likes

https://ifdb.org/viewgame?id=y9y7jozi0l76bb82

6 Likes

for obvious reasons, I study many branches of mathematics & physics (mainly ballistics, of course…) up to having coded appropriate programs in the appropriate language (Fortran…)

Best regards from Italy,
dott. Piergiorgio.

5 Likes

I am not in any way a mathematician, but some of those near me have been enjoying the ‘hat’ and ‘spectre’ aperiodic monotiles.
(A friend’s take on it, and their playable puzzle.)

5 Likes

In my school days I had specialization in math and bio. But I’m not as good in math now as I was back then.

Recently I tried to understand the proof of Euler’s theorem. [Edit: It was Fermat’s theorem.] But it’s too sophisticated/advanced for me.

A little bit more light/easy is a book with collected math riddles and wonders by Martin Gardner.

4 Likes

I got a “B” in maths at ‘O’ Level. :smiley:

4 Likes