LUNIUM - the final twist…

In a classic magic trick, there are several parts. First, there is the ‘pledge’ - something entirely expected, then there’s the ‘turn’ - the surprise at the end that makes it all worthwhile. But there’s one more part, the ‘prestige’. The final twist…

––––

After seeing the initial prediction of 21st place, I was still secretly hoping I might sneak into the top 20 on the day. But 7th place - incredible! It just shows how broken the scoring system is. :wink:

Huge thanks to everyone who played and voted - and especially all those amazing, insightful reviews (I actually think it’s the reviewers who deserve to share the prize money). I can truly say… I’m over the moon.

So, in honour of tradition, here’s a very verbose, mildly tedious and self-aggrandising post-mortem. Be warned, there be spoilers ahoy.

––––

This is my first time entering into IFcomp - and also my first attempt at a game in Twine. However, my first published game was a game called ‘The Kuolema’ in this years Spring Thing. That was a strange beast, created entirely in Google Forms. I think, on reflection, that although it proves you can use Google Forms to create interactive fiction, the limitations and awkwardness of the interface make anything but the shortest of stories a bit of a chore.

Even so, The Kuolema was received fairly well, and of course, the majority of the negative comments were about the format. So, I figured it was time to learn something a bit more ‘professional’ - and Twine seemed like the natural step up for choice-based games. I’ve never been much of a coder, and it was that part that really put me off Twine. Plus, as a designer, the very bare, basic look of it, slightly clunky way it deals with rich media - along with the non-user friendly interface held me back.