Looking for a solution to compounding if statements from long choice chains

Twine: 2.5.1.0
Working with Sugarcube 2.36.1

So wasn’t sure exactly what to make the tile for this. And what I’m looking to try and do might be a bit complex and I’m still learning.

I am attempting to make a ‘Home’ passage, with the idea that there will be other characters present within the ‘Home’. I had the idea of using the include macro to handle extra passages with the side characters, that will have links to various conversations with them.

So what I am looking to do, is allow the player to say talk to Abby. Then I want the choice to talk to Abby about that subject to disappear, and perhaps be replaced by another two choices about something that came up during the conversation. And then perhaps speak to some other character, say Jeff about the same subject. And speaking with Jeff then will allow for another choice with Abby.

And the reason that I’m not doing this in a linear way with progressive passages and if statements is that I intend for the player to be able to leave the ‘Home’ and go do other things, then return with the ability to then discuss with these characters what the player has learned.

So ultimately, what I’m looking for is a more elegant way to evaluate what the player has learned and where the player is in relationship to the conversation with the side characters. Without an absolute mess of if statements and variables. I’ve been trying to figure out how I could maybe make an array or object per character to hold these variables (or just the macro links themselves), and use that to pick which links/buttons should be shown.

Hopefully that all makes sense so far, below I’ll show the sort of idea in code that I’m looking to alleviate.

'Home' Passage

The house is quiet for now.

<<if $abbyHome is true>>
You see Abby reading a book by the fireplace.
   <<include "abbyHandler">>
<</if>>
<<if $jeffHome is true>>
   <<include "jeffHandler">>
<</if>>