Looking at yourself

I am brand new to IF development and Inform. I hope to find support on this forum, as I’m not sure I’ll be able to solve the riddle of how to do this from the documentation and the error console… I really only learn best by doing or by example, but I am not even getting out of the gate on this one, so I hope for pity and help. I am using the newest to date build of Inform 7 I just downloaded.

I am trying to do something as simple as having a different message for when you look at yourself than “As good-looking as ever.”. I am trying this:

The Bedroom is a room. Yourself is a man in the bedroom. Every turn looking at the player: say "Why doesn't this work?"

I also tried this, but this isn’t what I want, as this condition is only true if you are just looking at the room, rather than at anything in particular like yourself.

The Bedroom is a room. Yourself is a man in the bedroom. Every turn looking: say "This works, but I'm not looking at myself!"

The description of the player is "Whatever."

“Every turn” rules are for effects you want to occur every turn, not responses to player commands.

Simply put something like this somewhere:

Before examining player:
	say "Excessive examining yourself is a sign of something I'm sure." instead.

Or what Zarf said :smiley: