Linking to Another Passage on Hover/Mouseover? (Twine Version 2.3.16, Harlowe)

Hi friends,

Twine novice here, I’m looking to implement a feature in my game where mousing over a certain word/phrase sends you to another passage. Or, in other words, I want to create a link that triggers on a hover/mouseover instead of on clicking. I’ve already learned about the mouseover-replace macro and such, but I can’t find a macro that works as I’m intending.

I was wondering if there was some workaround I’m missing, or if it’s possible to translate the custom solution in this old post (Doing more with hover/mouseover - Twine Forum) to Harlowe (my Javascript knowledge is also minuscule).

Another potential solution I found was this site with custom macros (go to the “Mouseover Macro” page and see the second example with the pitfall: Custom Macros Demo), but that’s unfortunately for Sugarcube.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

If you’ve found the (mouseout-replace:) macro, then in that same section of the documentation is the (mouseover-goto:) macro.

1 Like

Wow, no idea how I missed this, and how it never came up in my searches? Time to read the documentation more closely. Thanks a lot!

Hi,

I’m solving a similar problem and I’m quite sorry that there is no macro to inspire.
I would like to activate the button when hovering the mouse and still groping.

Jirka

Hi, I’m no Greyelf but I think I could maybe help you. Could you be a little more clear on what you’re trying to do? What’s the result you’re looking for?

1 Like

two things I would note:

1. Generally people who view web based pages don’t expect moving their cursor over an interactive element like a “button” or “link” to trigger that element’s purpose…
  2. It’s not unusual for a cursor to pass over other “things” when the end-user moves their cursor from one part of a page to another.
1 Like

Hi,

I’m so glad you want to help me.