Let’s play: Hadean Lands

There are three things that I would argue are necessary to make not just a good work of Interactive Fiction, but a truly exquisite one that will go down in legend:

1. The story has to bee engaging, thoughtful, and parceled out in sizable snippets, bit by bit, drawing the reader deeper and deeper into the game-world.
  2. The puzzles need to be…well, a lot of things. Numerous without drowning the reader, tough without forcing the reader to tear their hair out with rage, and meshed within the story so as to feel like your doing something that advances you closer to your goal(s) without feeling like a series of arbitrary challenges.
  3. The implementation. I’m a programmer so I understand how aggravating it can be when aiming to complete a large project, knowing how much work you have to put into the damn thing to make it work. It gets exponentially harder with IF, as you have to account for as many player actions as possible. The games I consider masterpieces do this and more. Compensating for as many variations as possible, implementing otherwise pointless objects like scenery just to give players a more satisfying experience, (to make the game-world feel real), and, of course, minimizing those pesky bugs.

So why this little rant of mine?
I came across a game that fits my definition of a masterpiece, bought it, started playing with anticipation…and, well, got stuck. I speak, of course, of Andrew Plotkin’s Hadean Lands, a game that deserves all the hype it’s gotten. From what I saw of it before I stopped playing, the concept was really well done. I cannot imagine the work it took to implement both the alchemy and the system that replayed various sections of the game for you once the character had memorized the steps required to complete various tasks. The alchemy, especially, is so well thought out that you can even create your own rituals, to an extent, just by understanding the rules and limitations that are allowed.