Legality of logos that happen to be included in images

Hello!

I have a legal question about developing games, and I wasn’t sure what category to put it under.

I have a game using photos I have taken, and some of them happen to have logos in them, for example publishing company logos on the spines of books on a bookshelf, logos on bottles in a bathroom bag, logos on boxes, tools, or bits of paper on a desk, that sort of thing.

My question is, do I have to find some way to obscure or scramble all these logos before I publish the game online?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I’m not a lawyer - nor do I play one on tv - but while it may be possible in practice to not draw attention by doing that, I believe you would be in technical violation. And if somehow someone decided to take notice, they could cause you a lot of problems even if the legal system ultimately declines to punish you.

Blurring out the logos would probably be a worthwhile step. Certainly much simpler than replacing them.

1 Like

I’m not a lawyer either but I’m pretty sure “incidental inclusion” of trademarks - when they happen to appear on things in a wider picture - is generally OK. (Otherwise there’d be few urban places in the western hemisphere that it was legal to publish photos of.) From the first google result I find:

The question of incidental inclusion of trade marks was considered in the Trebor Bassett case in relation to cards with images of footballers wearing shirts showing the trade mark. The court in that case found that the publisher was not “using” the trade mark within the meaning of the trade mark legislation.

And the logo on a footballer’s shirt on a football card would be much more prominent than what you’re talking about.

(I’m surprised that case happened, because surely the whole point of putting your logo on footballers is that anyone who sees the footballers in question sees your logo, but capitalism is weird.)

1 Like