keep running into a crash when compiling

Not sure if this would fall more under a windows or I7 problem but here goes. My OS is windows 7. Seems like every time I go through compiling now inform will hang up and a window will pop up saying. "Inform 7 for windows has stopped working.

A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available."

This is becoming quite frustrating to say the least when it crashes over and over. Anyway anyone who has more technical skill than I…if you can point me in the right direction to get this squared away I would be very thankful.

The nice (?) thing about Windows is that its error messages make Inform’s error messages look helpful by comparison. Sort of like going to the doctor:

Sorry I can’t add anything helpful, other than to confirm that the issue is not as simple as Inform 7 not working with Windows 7. I’ve been running Windows 7 for a few months and haven’t run into this. Good luck.

Robert Rothman

I’m not terribly familiar with Inform, but on the Windows side of it I can say that sometimes there’s useful information saved to the Windows event log, which you can browse using the Event Viewer.

I’m guessing any crash reports for Inform would end up under Windows Logs\Application\ .

Does it crash when you create a simple test game? If so, you need to reinstall. In that case, save your work in progress to a safe location. (It’s a file called story.ni. It’s buried somewhere deep in the bowels of your hard drive.) Then uninstall and reinstall.

If the test game compiles and runs, then you’ve written some code that has run afoul of a bug in the Inform compiler. Load your game, comment out as much as you possibly can, and run it. Assuming it runs, start adding bits, one at a time, by uncommenting them, and keep running the game each time. Sooner or later it will blow up, and you’ll be able to locate the bug.

–JA