Issues with Dropdown in Harlowe

Twine Version: 2.8.1
Story Format: Harlowe 3.3.8

Greetings! I am very new to Twine and am currently working on my first project. I’ve had a look through the forum, but couldn’t find a similar post, which is why I’m writing this. Please excuse if something similar has already been asked.
I’d like to write a quasi text based RPG, so naturally, I want to include a “character creation” screen at the beginning. On this page the user can choose a race for their character, adjust some abilitiy stats and give their character a name, all very reminiscent of classic rpg’s like D&D. I’ve done the ability stats and choosing the name and I’m quite happy with the results, but choosing a race for the character is giving me a hard time.

For referance, the code for adjusting the stats (which works perfectly fine) looks like this:

<==
||||=
Strength: {
	(link-repeat: "|+|")[
    	(if: $points > 0)[
        (set: $str to it + 1)
        (set: $points to it - 1)
        (replace: ?strengthStat)[|strengthStat>[$str]]
        (replace: ?pointsStat)[|pointsStat>[$points]]
     ]
  ] |strengthStat>[0]

(link-repeat: "|-|")[
    	(if: $str > 0)[
        (set: $str to it - 1)
        (set: $points to it + 1)
      ]
    ]
} 

Intelligence: {
        (set: $int to it + 1)
        (replace: ?intStat)[|intStat>[$int]]
      ]
    ] |intStat>[0]

(if: $int > 0)[
        (set: $int to it - 1)
      ]
    ]
}

Dexterity: {
        (set: $dex to it + 1)
        (replace: ?dexStat)[|dexStat>[$dex]]
      ]
    ] |dexStat>[0]

(if: $dex > 0)[
        (set: $dex to it - 1)
      ]
    ]
}

{
	(link-repeat: "|Reset Points|")[
    	(set: $str to 0)
        (set: $int to 0)
        (set: $dex to 0)
        (set: $points to 15)
      ]
}

(text-style:"underline")[Remaining Points: |pointsStat>[15]]