Issue with Vorple, require(), and webpack

Hey all,

I’m revisiting an old project with another IntFic community member, and we’re trying to use webpack in order to get access to import * from ___ and require() for our Vorple i7 project. But for some reason, Vorple is currently unable to read the main.bundle.js file that we bundled. When we used the wikipedia_query function in the original file main.js, it works normally. But with the bundled main.bundle.js file (even when minification was turned off) we cannot access any of the JS in the file.

Any tips on debugging or namespacing would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

Wasn’t able to edit the above message, but wanted to add:

Alternatively, if anyone’s figured out alternatives for webpack that let you use import or require() to add JS modules into a Vorple project, any info would be great!

1 Like

I wish I could answer your question, but I’m just getting into Vorple myself. It’s unusual to see a request for help go this long without a reply. I hope you get a response because I suspect I might be asking something similar in the future.

A few diagnostic questions:

1. Any errors in the browser console?
  2. What Webpack options are you using?
  3. What module/output format in Webpack?
1 Like

Sorry, I missed the original post. If you mean that you can’t access Javascript stuff from inside Inform, the trick is to expose the functions and variables in the global window scope. Webpack encapsulates everything so that things aren’t accessible from outside.

So if you have a function myFunction that you want to call from Inform:

function myFunction() {
  // ...
}

window.myFunction = myFunction;

Now you can do execute JavaScript command "myFunction()"; in Inform and it’ll run the JS function.

You can check here how Vorple does it for its own namespace (also built with Webpack): index.js at GitHub

1 Like
  1. Errors

Main.js (which is included in the story file) looks like this:

var rand = require('random-number');