Issue removing NPC's clothing when more than one NPC is present in a room

Hi everyone! I’m brand new to Inform 7 and have had some great success getting started with my game. However, I’ve encountered my first major stumbling block and the documentation has not gifted me an answer, so I have to turn to you guys.

My game involves several people that wear identical nondescript clothing items. That is: Joe wears a shirt, Chris wears a shirt, and Bob wears a shirt. Their shirts share the same properties and names. Joe does not wear “Joe’s shirt”; he just wears “shirt”. I want the player to be able to collect and stack the nondescript items for the player’s own use.

I am encountering an issue when trying to remove pieces of clothing from these NPCs. Without fail, using undress <clothing> from <NPC> will only work on the first NPC brought into the scene. Otherwise, it will act as if the clothing isn’t there. I suspect this has to do with the clothing being nondescript and not unique.

Here is a test script demonstrating the problem:

"Garment Test" by Ukai

The Barracks is a room.
The player is in the Barracks.

[Garments]

A garment is a kind of thing. A garment is wearable.
A garment can be head-worn, face-worn, torso-worn, legs-worn, groin-worn, hand-worn, or feet-worn.
A flak jacket is a kind of garment. A flak jacket is torso-worn. Understand "flak jacket", "jacket", and "flak vest" as flak jacket.
The flak pants are a kind of garment. The flak pants are legs-worn. Understand "flak pants", "pants", and "trousers" as flak pants.
A flak helmet is a kind of garment. A flak helmet is head-worn. Understand "flak helmet", "helmet", and "flak hat" as flak helmet.

[People]

Solid Snake is a man in the barracks. "Solid Snake is ready for battle." The description of Solid Snake is "He is really good at hiding in boxes."
Solid Snake is wearing a flak jacket, flak pants, and a flak helmet.