Is Twine optimized for mobiles?

Hello,

I’m currently working on a visual novel for smartphones (iOS and Android), I’m a complete beginner.
Twine seems like a good tool to developp it, however I’m a bit concerned about the final result on a mobile screen, because Twine seems mostly used on desktops.

Can I be sure once all my project is over on Twine it will be possible to have it optimised for mobiles (responsive and everything) ?

I have some solid bases on CSS, so the coding part in itself won’t be a problem, however I never released an app before.

Thanks,

Sylvain

1 Like

You know, I’m kind of in the same boat as you. I’m looking forward to more insight on this as well.

If you have CSS knowledge, you are over half-way there. The one thing that you have to make a decision over is what story format to use. Harlowe is great out of the box. SugarCube is the choice for most who want as much freedom as Twine stories can offer, but you have to will most likely want to use Tweego (compiler) and VS Code (code syntax highlighting) and you have to configure both with some effort… which means you aren’t using Twine’s editor at all.

It’s funny, because while I’m technically savvy with computers, I still struggle with understanding how Github actually works (very user un-friendly) and setting up Tweego… I need a step-by-step instruction manual. But ask me to write some JavaScript that controls SVG elements to create dynamic radial health gauges and such, I’m your man. :wink:

Edit: Sorry, I missed that you put SugarCube in the tags of your post.

2 Likes

The base UI for SugarCube has been optimised for mobile view.
However, if you edit the UI in StoryInterface or add large items in a passage, you may need to add some @media rules in your Stylesheet to make it work.

EDIT: here are the base CSS StyleSheet for SugarCube

EDIT EDIT: Twine was not created with Visual Novel in mind, more text-based projects. It might not be the best program to use.