Is there an object model doc for Inform 7?

I’m an experienced programmer who’s trying out I7 and quite enjoying it, but finding the hours spent playing guess-the-right-combination-of-words rather tiring. I’m looking for a place I can go and get chapter-and-verse about what a given built-in thing makes available etc, like the javadoc for an IDE.

The Standard Rules is close to what I want but but it’s tough to use. As an example, I’m currently trying to see how to properly refer to the list of objects that are in the room the player is in. I’ve read SR1 and SR2 end to end but am none the wiser, though it’s taken up most of an evening.

You might try this thread for several different approaches to documentation. I don’t know if anyone’s written up a formal object model, though.

As for your example:

[code]the list of things in the location of the player [if you’re concerned with direct containment only]

the list of things enclosed by the location of the player [if you want to count things inside of things as well][/code]

Make sure you give the Index a thorough read too. It doesn’t tell you everything, but it tells you a lot.

There is no formal object model because I7 isn’t formally organized into objects.

For your question, you are looking for one of the built-in relations (containment or enclosure). But to use it, you need to know how to talk about things related by a given relation. The SR don’t get you very far here because relations are a core language element – see the manual starting 13.1.

Getting a list of things is in the SR:

To decide what list of Ks is the list of (D - description of values of kind K): ...

I guess the documentation you’re missing is a summary of what descriptions are (and how they’re built from relations and adjectives).

This is tangential, but I’ve seen it a couple of times in recent questions: