Is there a way to display a picture/figure inside of description?

I’m trying to insert a jpg inside a description of an object. Is that possible?

Yes, here’s one way to do it:

The Museum is a room.

Figure of Foobar is the file "Foobar.jpg".

The painting is in the Museum. 

Carry out examining the painting:
	say "It depicts a faraway planet.";
	display the Figure of Foobar;
	say "What a fascinating landscape!";
	stop the action.

See chapters 23.4 to 23.6 in the docs. You need to put the JPG file into a certain location in your file system, which is described in 23.4.

2 Likes

It keeps telling me that it can’t find a verb that it recognizes.
This is what I had written:

The brown paper is part of the wall.
Carry out examining the brown paper:
say “You find seemingly random selections of text and illustrations from the Exodus story as recounted in Hebrew’s scripture.”

the Figure of Exodus is the file “exodus1.png”.
Display the Figure of Exodus.
Stop the action.

I’m no expert at images, but I don’t think you’re allowed to declare them within a rule like that (from what you posted I’m also not sure if you’re using semicolons in your rules?) This should work:

Figure of Exodus is the file “exodus1.png”.

say “You find seemingly random selections of text and illustrations from the Exodus story as recounted in Hebrew’s scripture.”;
     Display the Figure of Exodus;
     Stop the action.

(By the way, you can use the preformatted text tool – the one that looks like </> in the toolbar above – to paste in your code in a more readable way).

Hope this is helpful!

3 Likes

Thanks again for trying to help me.

Your code worked…kind of. The figure ended up showing as the red stop sign with the exclamation point. So I must’ve done something wrong with the image file on my end.!

Screen Shot 2021-04-24 at 8.59.09 AM|690x105

Any suggestions?