Is it possible to spell/grammar check player text in sugarcube?

I’m using Sugarcube 2.35. I’m wanting to get players to input large blocks of text as a creative writing exercise (I’m a teacher). I’m wondering if it’s possible to spell/grammar check the string that players input via the textbox?

Thanks so much for your time!

I’m not a Twine user, but I know that browsers nowadays typically have spellcheck turned on by default–usually the passive kind where they red-underline any unrecognized words. If you search for “spell” in the settings for Firefox or Chrome, for example, you’ll see that this is turned on (or can be turned on, if it has been turned off).

Hope this helps!

1 Like

It should be noted that this web-browser feature often makes use of the Operating System’s own spell-checker functionality (which may require third-party software like a Word Processing application to be installed), so if that OS doesn’t include such functionality then possibly neither will the web-browser.

1 Like

This difficulty in spellchecking is one of the reasons I decided to use Tweego+SugarCube instead of Twine. Since Tweego’s .tw files are just plain text files instead of windows in a GUI, I am able to use whatever combination of text editor and spellchecker I like. In my case, that happens to be emacs + aspell, but there are many others, of course.

1 Like

Thanks for the ideas!

Sorry just to clarify, I’m wanting feedback for the player (within the game) not the author (though that would be nice haha).

So as a creative writing tool, I’m wanting something to detect how many mistakes Jimmy has made in writing a paragraph, and then give him some in game consequences… If he just spams nonsense he should fail the test…Does that make sense?

You’d have to hook up some sort of javascript spell-checking library. And a quick search isn’t turning up anything that looks like it would be particularly easy to just drop in and use… :frowning:

1 Like