Interactive Fiction Storybooks for Kids

I am in the midst of creating an app library with Interactive Fiction storybooks for children. As a teacher, I have seen how much more engaged many of my third-grade students are when I present stories to them where they can make choices. I assume it makes it feel more like a game to them.

Would you like to -

1. Share other perspectives about how the page layout should look. I locked into this kind of format from the beginning, but I know that there are probably better ways to do it.

Any suggestions would be hugely appreciated. (Ignore the icons around the edges.)

Thanks!

1. Let me know if you think the attached map schematic could work to keep readers interested? When I grew up, I would just put my fingers in the pages and go back to them. But I realized that even ‘bookmarking’ pages to return to is going to take too long. So I thought maybe have an interactive progress map where they could just click and return to the pages/rooms where they can make other choices…

Thanks again! Progress Map Schematic

1 Like

It’s probably waaay outside the scope, but my kids have read books (including a VR experience ‘played’ through an iphone which my son really liked despite it being a very very obvious morality tale & ad from the company that made it) that had minor animations on the page, eg if you clicked on a tiger it would roar.

They could also click on any word and have it read back to them, which even in Year 3 would be great for those kids struggling with reading. (Other Year 3 kids are reading novels, I know.)