Inform 7, sound, web publishing (newbie, searched already)

Hey everyone,

I’m new to writing IF. Many thanks if you can point me in the right direction.

I’m writing a piece that I will be releasing for play online in a web browser. I would like very much to incorporate sound.

Reading the documentation I have the understanding that:

Inform7 only supports sound in Glulx (inform7.com/learn/man/WI_23_7.html)
Parchment (for web publishing) only supports Z-machine. (parchment.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/zcode.html)
Vorple (for web publishing) only supports Z-machine (vorple-if.com/doc/#getting-started)
Quixe (for web publishing) does not support sound. (eblong.com/zarf/glulx/quixe/)

I’m probably misunderstanding something here, but it looks like I may be unable to make a web-playable IF with sound since the only interpreters that support sound require Z-machine and Inform7 only does sound with Glulx.

If I’ve got this all screwed up or if there’s a workaround I’d love to know it.

Also, just for completeness, I’ve read and understand that some audiences have a negative reaction to sound or other multi-media etc. I’m ok with that and understand. The audience for this particular work will thoroughly enjoy the existence of sound and I’d love to provide it for them (along with text descriptions for people who have sound off, don’t have hearing, etc). So if possible, I’d like to stay focused on finding a solution to the technical issue if there is one.

Thank you for your time and assistance!

What’s your time frame?

I’m working on a proof of concept with another author to get embedded images in a custom web template using FyreVM (Glulx-Inform 7 based story files with special extensions).

FyreVM can support turn-based sound manipulation.

The WebUI for TADS 3 should certainly support sound. I’ve only used sound in a self-contained TADS game, not in a Web-based game, but if you require sound, I would say offhand that T3 is probably a much more robust solution than Inform.