Inform 7 How to make thing usable

Hey, so I am new to Inform 7 so forgive my newbie-ness.

So I have a sword in one of my rooms (code below) and I want the player to be able to choose to either use this sword on a character (then print some and move the player to a different room) or use it on a animal (then print dialog, give an item to the player, then move the player to a new room). How do I make the sword “usable” in this context? Specifically, I am looking for something along the lines of having the player type “use sword on character” or “use sword on animal”. I might be missing or not understanding a basic feature of Inform 7 that can do this so again apologies!

sword is a thing in The Banquet. The description of sword is “…”.

Inform doesn’t know the command “use” by default so you need to create it.
Then you have to tell inform what action should happen when the player type “use”.
Then you’ll be able to define specific cases for a person or an animal.
Chapter 6 of the documentation will help you a lot. Here’s section 6.2 on creating new commands : Help 6.2

You’ll need to define:

• a command “use [something] on [something]”
  • a “using” action applying to two things
  • special cases for a sword, a person and an animal (“Carry out using the sword on an animal”, “Carry out using the sword on the chihuahua”…)

Hope this helps!

1 Like

Quite often you’d use a verb other than use (eg hit man with sword, or wave sword at animal). Some of the responses are built in but you can change those.

1 Like

How about something like this:

Lab is a room. 

The sword is here. The description is "A sword.".

Squirrel is an animal in Lab.

Daniel is a man in Lab.

Understand the command "use" as something new. Understand "use [something] on [something]" as using it on. Using it on is an action applying to two visible things.

Carry out using something on something:
	if the noun is the sword:
		if the player carries the sword: