Infocom IP Ownership 2022

Just reading…

Anyone aware of any further updates? I guess the branding is separate from the games themselves.

Adam

1 Like

Nope, haven’t heard anything further.

2 Likes

The outfit in Colorado Springs behind the infocom.xyz site, Infocom LLC, holds a current standard character mark on “Infocom” vis-a-vis “downloadable game software”. I doubt their use of Infocom’s exact logo would survive a challenge by Activision, but I’m not a lawyer and intellectual property law is weird.

3 Likes

It’s definitely interesting. More so now with Microsoft buying Activision. They may actually do something with the games library (perhaps like the Williams are doing with Colossal Cave using Unity) and if so they will certainly use the original branding including Infocom logo.

2 Likes

It’s odd that current-day “Infocom” publishes Lode Runner tributes (knockoffs?). Surprised they didn’t go after Broderbund instead.

I hate to be the no fun allowed guy, but I honestly hope MS leaves it alone. Well, unless they let somebody like Limited Run Games do physical rereleases. I’d buy some of that.

2 Likes

I will say that it’s fun to explore graphical 3d incarnations of text games, I’ve played a couple of Zork games that were created in Roblox. They only designed as far as the Troll Room but exploring the forest, river and house up to that point was really fun!

I suspect Microsoft won’t have graphical reimplementations on their radar.

What is it that worries you @kamineko?

2 Likes

I think we have a pretty good thing going with the availability of all of these Infocom materials: games, tools, documentation. I don’t think any of that would have been feasible if Activision had actually cared about Infocom. So it’s hard for me to get excited about Microsoft caring about it.