In case anyone is worried about publishing fanfiction

A question I had been worried about has been answered, and since I wondered if anyone was having the same question anytime in the future, here it is now…

Summary...
Originally sent in LabBarAtory
SomeOne2

Guys, I kind of need to know now, before I do any more work: Am I allowed to make the game Milliways in general, or would it be copyrighted (because of the book)? I do not want to fall into any copyright traps or anything.

Like: write and publish it.

Maybe into a Comp, depending if that's allowed.

DeusIrae

Well, I'm not a practicing lawyer, and while I did study law and work on public policy none of that has anything to do with IP law. So I'm at best a slightly better informed layman (and only really know US law, not UK, though my understanding is that UK isn't that different). But my basic sense is that 1) from what you've described, yeah, it would violate Adams' copyright, but 2) no worse than any other piece of fan fiction violates the copyrights of the works on which they're based, and 3) since other pieces of fan fiction have been entered in to the Comp without any issues, I suspect you're fine

SomeOne2

On IFDB, definitely.

DeusIrae

Also, NB that the monetary damage you'd do to the Adams estate is basically zero -- like, there's no actual Milliways game for people to decide not to buy in favor of your thing -- so the absolute worst case scenario is probably just a cease and desist letter telling you to stop distributing the thing, not like thousands of dollars or anything

pinkunz

And that is only likely if you're making money on it.

DeusIrae

(That would probably mean taking it down from IFDB, unfortunately -- but it seems very very unlikely to happen)

pinkunz

If the game isn't for sale anywhere, this is very unlikely.

SomeOne2

...Which I wouldn't be...

pinkunz

Then you're likely fine.

Worse case scenario is a, "hey, don't do that" letter.

DeusIrae