Imaginary Realities - A Call to Arms

Hi there. My name is Michael Heron and I am a developer of multiuser text games.

Back in the day, there was a multiuser dungeon ezine called ‘Imaginary Realities’[1]. It died around ten years ago, taking with it much of the heart of the community of MUDs. It’s my desire to resurrect Imaginary Realities as a modern web publication with an expanded scope - I want it to be the hub around which text-games in all their various forms can coalesce. I would like it to be a place where those of us who are passionate about text as a medium can share our thoughts, our opinions and the lessons we have learned when building games and telling stories.

I am passionate about text as a medium for games. I think there are few interaction metaphors that are so successful at distilling and conveying story and atmosphere. I also think it’s sad that text games have become so marginalised in modern society. Books didn’t disappear when movies came along, and yet text games have largely faded away as graphics have become the dominant medium. I don’t think that’s inevitable, but I think that at least in part it’s because those of us who love text as a medium are fractured across far too many communities. The numbers involved in text games are already quite small, but they remain small because the community does not speak with one voice. It speaks with a hundred or so tiny voices and you need to actually strain to hear what’s being said over the roar of the internet.

There’s a lot to connect those who develop interactive fiction with those who create MUDs. There’s a lot to connect those who make things like Echo Bazaar with those who make things like Mafia Wars. There are potential links here that could really spark off genuinely useful discussions. Good, productive conversation comes from the discussions between people with mutual respect and different perspectives, provided that discussion occurs on common ground.