IFDB awards question

Hello everyone! I’m a newbie here, and a lurker on cog forums. A few days ago, I happened to click on a thread under the “Latest” category, with Eternal on its title. A few users there recommended IFs from chooseyourstory (never knew it existed until that point) including Eternal itself, so i decided to give Eternal a try at first, which proved to be for the best (have not been able to put it down until now. way too many epilogues to reach). But that’s beside the point.

Thanks to @manonamora’s relentless reblogs on her Tumblr blog, I also participated as a voter in IFDB’s 2023 awards and only now do I realize that there weren’t any interactive fiction works from that site nor a category for them. Why is that? Isn’t IFDB supposed to include interactive fiction from every part of the internet, regardless of engine/programming language used to create them?

3 Likes

This might have been due to the first eligibility rule:

Eligibility
-For most polls, games are eligible if they are listed on IFDB and have a publication date during 2023.

from The 2023 IFDB Awards now open!

1 Like

I used ifdb searches to create the award categories. Each category needed 5 games in order to get a vote on games in that category. There are only 2 games listed on ifdb published in chooseyourstory for 2023.

Edit: had to change search link to work right.

It’s possible there were more published, but none were listed at the time I made the awards other than these 2.

8 Likes