IFComp 2019 predictions

I am going to have to uphold the tradition, though I fear I am not very good at this:

• A quarter of the entries will be Tolkien-style fantasy-themed.
  • About five games will be sci-fi-themed.
  • Two or three games will be based on Lovecraft’s writing.
  • More than half the games will be written in Twine.
  • There will be at least one entry with no interactivity at all. It will come second-to-last.
  • The game to come last will be a troll entry that is actually quite funny but hopelessly under-implemented.
  • There will be one otherwise solid game with an easily-fixed but game-breaking bug that gets noticed within the first three days of the competition but is never actually fixed. This game will get an average rating of around 3.75.
  • One entry will feature 80% hidden content, which 80% of the audience will miss.
  • Likewise, the commentary on current affairs in two games will be lost on the audience.
  • There will be exactly one quickly escalating, toxic discussion on that drives at least one person from this forum.
  • There will be several entries gleefully featuring murder, torture, cannibalism or some other unspeakable cruelty, but they will not loose points for it. The debate on down-marking for transgression of common norms of decency will instead focus on the one entry that dares to briefly mention consensual sexuality without mincing words.
7 Likes

I predict that the last two bullet points involve the same entries.

3 Likes

Okay, let’s try this. (I swear I haven’t peeked at the entries yet; I just woke up.)

*Entry #17 will feature a duck. The duck will win the ‘best character’ award in the Xyzzy’s.
*Entry #27 will feature a villain named Hugo who pretends to be gay in order to garner sympathy. His plan backfires.
*Entry #37 will feature a dream sequence that causes 40% of players to rage quit, and 20% of players to weep copiously and give it the maximum possible score.